Ears on the Odyssey


CC Charli Lopez

We ❤ audiobooks.

We meet on the Odyssey 2017 Committee.

We are Sarah, Natalie, and Lizzie.

Ears on the Odyssey is a mock Odyssey Award blog. The Odyssey award is an annual award given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults. Our goal to offer a space for discussion on high quality youth audiobooks.  This blog will go over specific aspects of audio production of great listens, as well as the kind of critical evaluation that goes into picking an Odyssey winner, and our thoughts on why this all matters.

Sarah Hashimoto is a branch manager at Jackson District Library in Jackson, Michigan. She is a member of ALSC, YALSA, and RUSA. She has served two years (one year as chair) on YALSA’s Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults Committee and was a member of the 2017 Odyssey Committee. Sarah is currently serving on RUSA’s Listen List Council as well as ALSC’s Membership Committee and reviews for AudioFile. Sarah prefers to read with her ears and is a passionate advocate of audiobooks for all ages and abilities.

Natalie Marshall is the Director of the Flint River Regional Library System, headquartered in Griffin, Georgia. She earned her MLIS from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville and is a member of YALSA. She has served on the 2017 Odyssey Committee, as well as three years on Georgia’s Peach Award Committee. She also reviews for AudioFile. Natalie has been an audiobook lover since college and loves to get new people hooked on the joys of a quality audio production.

Lizzie Nolan is a Senior Librarian in the San José Public Libraries. She is member of YALSA and ALSC. She has served on the 2017 Odyssey Committee and reviews for AudioFile. As a performer of Improv and a dyslexic, Lizzie understands both the power and the fun of outstanding audiobooks.

Email: ears.on.the.odyssey@gmail.com


Our super swank logo was designed by Maybe Brilliant, Sergio Perez, 2017.

%d bloggers like this: